National Trust for Scotland
In the grounds of Haddo House Hall, Ellon.
The Stable Block was built around 1820 for the 4th Earl of Aberdeen. It replaced the stables and hay-lofts which originally occupied the north wing of the mansion itself. The Stables Flat - much altered since 1820 - occupies what would probably have been accommodation for coachmen, grooms or stable hands. Below it is a space to house two coaches - look for the great, tall double doors outside, which are repeated at the far end of the building, now the Trust´s tearoom. Across the courtyard are the stables themselves - some still have their original cobbled floors, stalls and hay-racks. Beside the door into the Stables Flat is a simple set of mounting steps to help riders get on to their horses with dignity, and around the whole stable block look out for iron rings set into the walls at various heights - these were used to tie up horses and dogs.
The Stable Block can be a busy area during the spring and summer as the nearby Haddo House Hall hosts a season of plays and concerts. Regular events also take place in the magnificent Library of the House, and details of these are available from the Property Manager or from the NTS North East Office, tel (01330) 833225.
Sleeps 4. Two twin bedrooms, sitting room, kitchen and bathroom with bath and shower.
Washing machine, shaver point, colour TV, payphone, microwave, dogs allowed, property available for winter breaks, property available for festive breaks. Electric Central Heating and immersion water heater.